religious art, liturgical art, and church photography from S. Smith Photography

Quiet moment of vigil at St. Sylvester Parish, Chicago

vigilat

Finishing up my second shoot at St. Sylvester Parish in Chicago, I decide to go for “just one more shot”.  I love mood shots like this because it communicates that faith and hope live in moments of stillness and darkness. It is the custom in Catholic churches to have a candle burning in vigil when the Blessed Sacrament is in the tabernacle. I worked to get the darkness “dark enough” to match the lighting of the unlit church, with only dim ambient lighting coming in from windows in the nave. I love this shot, not just because the subject is my “main line of work”, but because it captures a mood near and dear to my heart.

Leave a Reply

